Gamper Trophy: FC Barcelona v Juventus – Match Preview

FC Barcelona will continue their Gamper Trophy tradition today as they line up against Juventus at the Johan Cruyff Stadium tonight. Ronald Koeman has called up the following 21 players for the game against the Italian giants –

Goalkeepers: 13. Neto, 26. Iñaki Peña

Defenders: 2. Sergiño Dest, 3. Gerard Piqué, 4. Ronald Araujo, 18. Jordi Alba, 22. Emerson Royal, 23. Samuel Umtiti, 31. Alejandro Balde

Midfielders: 5. Sergio Busquets, 6. Riqui Puig, 8. Miralem Pjanic, 14. Philippe Coutinho, 20. Sergi Roberto, 27. Yusuf Demir, 28. Nico González, 32. Álex Collado

Forwards: 7. Antoine Griezmann, 9. Memphis Depay, 12. Martin Braithwaite, 29. Rey Manaj

Expectedly, Lionel Messi is missing from the line up, a sight Barca fans will get used to from today onwards as the Argentine forward departs the Nou Camp for greener pastures elsewhere.

INJURY: Clément Lenglet (knee), Sergio Aguero (calf) and Frenkie De Jong (calf) and Ansu Fati [still recovering]

Pedri, Oscar Mingueza and Eric García are on a well deserved vacation after narrowly losing to Brazil in the finals at the Olympics. However, Coutinho is back in the squad after a lengthy lay off that saw the Brazilian attacker miss half of last season because of a knee injury.

Barca has played four [4] matches so far in their preseason games, but lost their last game against RB Salzburg in Austria. Although the friendly games are not the best means of showing her prepared the team is for the upcoming La Liga season, it has been promising.

The departure of Leo has left a huge void in the squad all eyes will be on the team to show that they have what it takes to mount a challenge for the title with or without Lionel Messi. Therefore, expect Griezmann to step up tonight. Depay has also been in good form since joining the Catalans, scoring for fun since his introduction and has been handed the number 9 jersey for his efforts.

The match kicks off at 9.30pm CET (Barcelona), 8.30pm BST/WAT (UK & Nigeria), 3.30pm ET, 12.30pm PT (USA), 1am IST (India, Monday).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s